Main Page


Hong Kong Soccer Sevens
@ Happy Valley, Hong Kong

Newcastle have entered a team in the annual two-day football event in Hong Kong since 2012 (aside from 2016). 

Played on artificial pitches at the Happy Valley home of Hong Kong FC, group stage games are seven minutes each way with a one minute break - with knockout games increasing to ten minutes each way and a three minute break.

2018: Newcastle United

Hong Kong FC drew 1-1 Roberts
Newcastle Jets won 3-1 Roberts (2), M.Longstaff
G3: Glasgow Rangers drew 0-0
Kashima Antlers drew 0-0 (won 7-6 pens*)
SF: Leicester City won 4-3 Fernandez (2), Longstaff, Roberts
F: Rangers won 1-0 Roberts

Squad: Owen Bailey, Dan Barlaser, Tyrique Bartlett, Lewis Cass, Luke Charman, Victor Fernandez, Nathan Harker, Matty Longstaff, Callum Roberts, Kelland Watts.

(*Bailey, Fernandez, Barlaser, Roberts, Charman, Watts, Longstaff)

2017: Leicester City

(NUFC Didn't enter)

2016: Aston Villa

G1: Hong Kong FC won 1-0 S.Longstaff
G2: Kitchee won 2-1 Barlaser, S.Longstaff
G3: Aston Villa lost 0-1
QF: FC Seoul lost 2-4 Holmes 2
SF: Eastern Sports Club lost 2-3 (Shield)

Squad: Dan Barlaser, Luke Charman, Ben Smith, Liam Gibson, Jamie Holmes, Jack Hunter, Sean Longstaff, Michael Newberry, Dan Ward, Callum Williams. 

: Atletico Madrid

G1: Singapore Cricket Club won 3-0 Roberts (2), Gilliead
G2: BC Rangers drew 0-0
G3: Leicester City won 1-0 Roberts
Aston Villa, won 2-0 Roberts, Laidler
SF: West Ham lost 1-3 Sterry

Squad: Dan Barlaser, Adam Bartlett*, Macaulay Gillesphey, Alex Gilliead, Tom Heardman, Jack Hunter, Adam Laidler, Callum Roberts, Liam Smith, Jamie Sterry, Callum Williams.

(*Paul Woolston dropped out of the squad due to injury and had to be replaced by Academy coach and former youth team 'keeper Bartlett).

2014: Manchester City

G1: Hong Kong FC won 2-0 Aarons, Gilliead 
Hong Kong FA drew 0-0
Guangzhou Evergrande won 3-0 Aarons (2), Olley
Rangers won 3-0 Gillesphey, Olley, Aarons
Kitchee lost 2-3 Barlaser, Aarons 

Squad: Rolando Aarons, Jak Alnwick, Dan Barlaser, Macaulay Gillesphey, Alex Gilliead, Adam Laidler, Ryan McKinnon, Greg Olley, Jonathyn Quinn, Callum Williams.

2013: Leicester City

G1: Hong Kong Select won 2-0 Ameobi (2)
G2: Southern District won 5-0 Inman, Richardson (2), Ameobi (2)
G3: Leicester City won 2-0 Inman, Tavernier
QF: Citizen won 2-0 Newton, Tavernier
SF: Rangers won 3-2 Ameobi (2), Richardson
F: Leicester City lost 0-2

Squad: Rolando Aarons, Jak Alnwick, Sammy Ameobi, Paul Dummett, Brad Inman, Steven Logan, Conor Newton, Michael Richardson, Remi Streete James Tavernier.

2012: Newcastle United

G1: HKFA Dragons won 2-0 Logan, Maddison
G2: Hong Kong FC won 1-0 Inman
G3: Aston Villa won 1-0 Hooper
QF: Celtic won 2-1 Campbell, Miele
SF: mackems won 1-0 Campbell
F: Aston Villa won 2-1 Campbell, Inman

Jak Alnwick, Adam Campbell, Paul Dummett, JJ Hooper, Brad Inman, Steven Logan, Brandon Miele, Marcus Maddison, Lubo Satka, James Tavernier.

Page last updated 12 June, 2018